This policy is for customers on Beacon's old (licence-based) billing. For information about moving to new billing, see this article.
Your Team Members page allows you to manage your Beacon users and to assign them to Beacon licences.
In Beacon, every team member needs their own licence. You can buy extra licences, switch team members between licences, and remove licences if you don't need them any more.
Managing Team members and licences is done on your Team members page. Find it under settings in your sidebar.
Invite your team members
You can invite your team members to join Beacon using the invite button at the top of the team members list.
You can find out more about inviting your team members in this article.
You can see the number of licences that you have and how many are available in your Licences section.
You can manage your licences by clicking Manage Licences.
Managing your licences
You can add or remove licences of different types with the corresponding buttons. A summary of the changes that you are making and what you will be billed for your changes is shown at the bottom of the dialog.
Assigning users to licences
The dropdowns in the Manage Licences dialog allow you to assign different users to licences. There are a few restrictions to how users can be assigned:
You must have at least one team member with a standard licence, who must also be an admin
Admins cannot be assigned to any other type of licence than standard
If you remove a licence then you must also choose a user to remove. You can assign this user to another licence, or they will be automatically deactivated when you confirm your changes.
You can find out more about free read-only licences here.
The team members list
The Team members list shows important information about your team:
Status - Has this team member accepted their invitation yet?
Admin? - Whether this team member is an admin
Licence - To which licence type has this team member been assigned?
[info] If you have any of the Beacon HQ team in your list (we'll have a Beacon logo next to our faces), you won't be charged for us! You'll notice that the Beacon team have a special free licence called 'Beacon Support'.
If you've already invited a team member to join Beacon, but they've either lost their invite email or are just dawdling, click the dots of the action menu and then Resend invite to shoot another invite email their direction.
If you have unused licences on your account then you can change a user to a different licence. For example, you might want to change a user to a read-only licence.
Click the three dot action button, and choose Change licence . Select the new type and click Save. The change will take effect immediately.
[info] Tip: You can't change an admin's licence. First, revoke their admin rights, then you'll be able to change their user type.
[info] Tip: Changing a team member's licence does not remove their licence. If you don't need their old licence any more then make sure you remove it in the Manage Licences dialog.
You might want to make a team member an admin, or revoke their admin access.
Admins can do all the cool stuff like changing settings, managing team members, editing account information, and have full customisation control over the database.
Admins also have control over what other team members can see and do via roles and permissions.
To make a team member an admin (or revoke their admin rights), click the three-dot action menu beside their entry, and click either Make admin or Revoke admin rights.
Deactivate a team member
When a team member is no longer a member of your team, you can deactivate their account. Deactivating someone's account completely removes their access to all of your data, and they will no longer be able to view or change anything in your database.
To deactivate someone click the action menu dots, and then choose Deactivate.
Any licence that this user had been assigned will now be available for another user. If you'd like to adjust your licences, click Manage licences.
[info] Team members will be notified by email when their user account has been deactivated or reactivated.
[info] We don't delete team members entirely because we still want to be able to see changes that the user made in record timelines.
Find and reactivate users
Deactivated team members are removed from the main team list, and are instead relegated to the Deactivated list. Their status will also update to reflect the change. To see your deactivated members, click Show deactivated users and the list will expand to show all users currently deactivated.
(to the naughty step with you, Harrison!)
If you wish to reinstate a user back into your team, simply use the action menu dots to bring up the Reactivate option. They will then appear again in the main team member list.
(we've forgiven you Harrison)
Reactivated team members keep their previous settings, including the roles and permissions that were assigned to them before deactivation.
[info] When you reactivate a team member you will need to assign them to a licence. If you do not have any licences available you can add one in the Manage Licences dialog.
Two factor authentication (2FA)
At Beacon, we take security very seriously and we believe you should too! It's very important that your whole team sets up 2FA to ensure the security of your database. Easily check which members are still to set it up: they won't have the nice green tick in their 2FA column.
If you have members that are not yet 2FA secure, send them here to take them through it.