All Collections
Collecting payments
Payment methods
Accepting payments through SEPA Direct Debit
Accepting payments through SEPA Direct Debit

Accepting Euro payments from European member countries - enabling Euro currencies and SEPA

Updated over a week ago

SEPA Direct Debit is a simple way for you to accept Euro payments from any European member country. When making a payment, supporters will be prompted to provide their IBAN number and accept a "mandate" that will allow you to debit from their account.

SEPA Direct Debits in Beacon are processed and managed securely through Stripe.

Note: Currently SEPA Direct Debit is supported on donation and membership forms, for recurring payments only. It's only available for Euro payments.

Typical payment flow

Enabling SEPA Direct Debit

  1. SEPA Direct Debit can only be enabled if the Euro currency is enabled on your account. Go to Settings > Charity Preferences and make sure that Euro is set as either your primary currency, or one of your secondary currencies.

  1. Go to Settings > Payments in your Sidebar.

  2. If you haven't already, you'll need to connect your Stripe account.

  3. Scroll down to SEPA Direct Debit, and enable it using the toggle:

  4. That's it! SEPA Direct Debit will now be shown as an option on any of your Euro currency forms for recurring payments.

Frequently asked questions

How long does it take for a SEPA payment to be processed?

SEPA Direct Debit is a delayed payment mechanism. Unlike card payments, you will not be paid immediately. It can take up to 14 business days for a subscription in Stripe to be confirmed.

Which countries can accept SEPA Direct Debit payments

Any country in the following list can accept Euro payments via SEPA Direct Debit. (Based on your Stripe account's country)

  • Australia

  • Austria

  • Belgium

  • Bulgaria

  • Canada

  • Cyprus

  • Czech Republic

  • Denmark

  • Estonia

  • Finland

  • France

  • Germany

  • Greece

  • Hong Kong

  • Ireland

  • Italy

  • Japan

  • Latvia

  • Lithuania

  • Luxembourg

  • Malta

  • Mexico

  • Netherlands

  • New Zealand

  • Norway

  • Poland

  • Portugal

  • Romania

  • Singapore

  • Slovakia

  • Slovenia

  • Spain

  • Sweden

  • Switzerland

  • United Kingdom

  • United States

Did this answer your question?