Skip to main content

How to delete your account

Cancel your subscription and delete your Beacon account

Looking to manage or close your Beacon account? You're in the right place.

If you are considering deleting your Beacon account and cancelling your subscription, we’d love the chance to chat with you first. We'd like to be able to explore how we can support you and see if there are other ways to address any challenges you're experiencing. We're always keen to hear your feedback on how we can do better, and we'd love to see if there's any way we can help.

You can reach out via the chat button in the bottom-right corner of your screen, or email us directly at [email protected].

See our terms and conditions for all the details about on how we manage data and account terminations.


What you should know

Account deletion is permanent

Deleting your Beacon account is final. To comply with GDPR and maintain strict security, deleting your account removes all of your data, billing details, charts, imports, and exports. Once deleted, this data cannot be recovered after 30 days.

Outstanding invoices must be settled first

If you have any unpaid invoices, they will need to be cleared before you can proceed with account deletion.

You can view these under Settings > Billing.


How to delete your account

To delete your Beacon account, follow these steps:

  1. Check for outstanding invoices: If you are a paying customer, ensure all invoices are paid via Settings > Billing. If there are unpaid invoices, the option to delete your account will not be available.
    ​

  2. Go to Settings > Charity preferences
    ​

  3. ​Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Delete account.
    ​

  4. Confirm your choice in the prompt window by entering your password or authenticating via Google/Microsoft.
    ​

Once completed, your subscription will be cancelled, and you will not receive any further charges.

We'll be sorry to see you go!


Frequently asked questions

Can I delete my account before the end of my subscription period?

Yes, but you won't receive a refund for any unused time. Read more in our fair billing policy.

Does deleting our Beacon account also cancel any recurring donations or memberships collected through Beacon forms?

No, we don't keep those hostage! Recurring payments processed through your Beacon forms are managed directly within your connected Stripe or GoCardless accounts. They will continue to process normally even if you leave Beacon.
​

If you do want to cancel these recurring payments, you will need to do so directly via your Stripe or GoCardless account.

We accidentally deleted our account - can we get it back?

For data retention reasons we can only recover a deleted account within 30 days. Please get in touch with us at [email protected] if you need to recover a deleted account.

How long do you retain deleted account data for?

60 days:

  • Deleted accounts remain in a recoverable state for 30 days before being permanently deleted

  • Data from permanently deleted accounts would remain in our backups for a further 30 days.

Did this answer your question?