Beacon offers a fair billing policy in which you can update your Beacon billing at any time and you will only be billed for what you choose.
The short version
Each month (or each year if you're paying annually), you'll be billed based on your plan, contacts, elements, and limit increases. You can see how this is calculated on your Billing page in Beacon.
At any time you can:
Change your plan
Increase or decrease your contacts limit
Add or remove elements
Add or remove limit increases
Fair pro-rata billing calculations will be made automatically when you update your billing, and you will be charged immediately to bring your account up to date for the current billing period.
If your new bill is less, we'll add a credit to your account, which will decrease your next bill. We don't offer refunds.
Each user must have their own user login. You must not share login details - It's very insecure and it's against our terms of service (Section 3.3(c)).
You can add or remove licences whenever you like, up to your plan's limit.
Making changes to your plan
If you make changes to your plan then we will issue a one-off charge to bring your account up to date for the month.
Here's an example:
You're on the Standard plan, currently paying £200 per month and you want to increase your contact limit, bringing your new monthly cost to £250. You increase your contact limit 10 days into your billing period, and there are 20 days remaining in the month. We calculate the pro-rata charge, by dividing the increase amount (£50) by the number of days in the month (30), and multiplying by the remaining number of days (20). This gives us the pro-rata cost for the remainder of that billing period: £33.33. We will then charge you £33.33 immediately, and next month your bill will be the new amount of £250.
Similarly, if you're paying annually, we'll bill you for the amount of time left on your billing period. For example, if you're paying annually and increase your contact limit halfway through the year, we'll bill you for the 6 months remaining.
Credit card charges
You’ll see the first credit card charge from Beacon on the day you purchase a Beacon plan. Here are some other times you’ll see charges:
On the monthly renewal date if your account is on a monthly payment schedule.
On the annual renewal date if your account is on an annual payment schedule.
Immediately, if you update you change your plan, change your contacts limit, change your enabled elements, or you change your billing period.
Paying by invoice
If you're paying annually by invoice, we'll invoice you for the full year for the billing setup that you have configured.
If you make changes to your account, we'll invoice you immediately to bring your account up to date.
Making changes where Beacon now costs less
When you make a change to your billing that means that Beacon will cost you less, we'll add a pro-rata credit to your Beacon account, and it'll be applied when you next make changes that increase your price, or on your next renewal date.
Note: This credit has no currency or exchange value, is non-transferable and non-refundable and will expire if you choose to cancel your Beacon subscription.
Here's an example:
You're on the Standard plan, currently paying £150 per month. You want to disable an element that was costing you £50. The element is deactivated 15 days into your billing period. We calculate your pro-rata credit amount by dividing the cost of the element (£50) by the number of days in the month (30) and multiplying by the number of days for which you had that element enabled. This gives you a pro-rata credit of £25.