Your Team members page allows you to manage your Beacon users.
In this article we'll use the terms 'users' and 'team members' interchangeably.
Managing Team members is done on your Team members page. Find it under Settings in your sidebar.
Anatomy of a team members page
The team members list
The Team members list shows important information about your team:
Status - Has this team member accepted their invitation yet?
Type - is this user an admin, regular, or read-only user?
Is two factor authentication (2FA) enabled for this user?
Invite your team members
You can invite your team members to join Beacon using the Invite button at the top of the team members list.
You can find out more about inviting your team members in this article.
If you've already invited a team member to join Beacon, but they've either lost their invite email or are just dawdling, click the dots of the action button and then Resend invite to shoot another invite email their direction.
Change user type
You can switch users between types at any time.
Admins can do all the cool stuff like changing settings, managing team members, editing account information, and have full customisation control over the database.
Admins also have control over what other team members can see and do via roles and permissions.
Standard users can edit data in your database, but won't be able to customise records or fields.
Read-only users cannot make any changes to your Beacon database, but they can view data. Read-only users do not count towards your user limit. You can find out more about read-only users in this article.
Read more about the three user types here.
Click the three dot action button, and choose Change type . Select the new type and click Save. The change will take effect immediately.
Deactivate a team member
When a team member is no longer a member of your team, you can deactivate their account. Deactivating someone's account completely removes their access to all of your data, and they will no longer be able to view or change anything in your database.
To deactivate someone click the action button dots, and then choose Deactivate.
Team members will be notified by email when their user account has been deactivated or reactivated.
Find and reactivate users
Deactivated team members are removed from the main team list, and are instead relegated to the Deactivated list. Their status will also update to reflect the change. To see your deactivated members, click Show deactivated users and the list will expand to show all users currently deactivated.
(to the naughty step with you, Harrison!)
If you wish to reinstate a user back into your team, simply use the action button dots to bring up the Reactivate option. They will then appear again in the main team member list.
(we've forgiven you Harrison)
Reactivated team members keep their previous settings, including the roles and permissions that were assigned to them before deactivation.
Two factor authentication (2FA)
At Beacon, we take security very seriously and we believe you should too! It's very important that your whole team sets up 2FA to ensure the security of your database. Easily check which members are still to set it up: they won't have the nice green tick in their 2FA column.
If you have members that are not yet 2FA secure, send them here to take them through it.
Disabling two factor authentication
While you can't disable another user's 2FA for them, you can allow them bypass 2FA temporarily so they can reset it themselves.
To let someone bypass 2FA click the action button dots, and then choose Disable two-factor authentication.
This will send that user a link to login. They should then make sure to reset their own 2FA in their settings.
Your user limit
You can add as many users you like up to your user limit. This is specified by your Beacon plan. You can find information about your user limit on your Billing page.
The following users do not count towards your user limit: